Is Calotren® Gluten Free? The end result for Calotren® is Gluten Free, both the liquid and capsules option. The FDA recently made a change that if the product is produced using wheat, you cannot label it gluten-free even if the end product tests free from gluten. Here is an explanation from our biochemist about how Calotren® Capsules are fermented with wheat but still gluten-free:
"The wheat is used for fermentation, but the enzymes produced by this process are purified to a point that virtually no trace of the wheat remains. However, from a legal standpoint, the FDA requires that any allergen used during the production of an ingredient to be stated on the label. While all companies should follow this requirement, many brands of enzymes do not. We make sure to state all such allergens on our enzyme products even if no trace of the originating ingredient exists.
The wheat allergen on the label comes from the fermentation used for ProHydrolase, but every finished batch is tested to ensure the ingredient is gluten-free."
Also, if you prefer, our liquid doesn't have ProHydrolase in it.